Rookie All-Stars: K-Pop Group Debuts of 2019 🌟

Rookie All-Stars: K-Pop Group Debuts of 2019 🌟

Being a K-pop fan is a full-time job. Keeping up to date with everything that is going on in the industry, albeit exciting, can be both daunting and overwhelming. 2019 has just begun, and has marked the debut of some really amazing groups. With so many talented artists joining this crazy world of music, dance, and passionate fans; we're practically drowning in content!

Grab on to your floaties, we're here to make your job easier by giving you a short list of the rookie groups of 2019!


January was cold, but what helped many of us beat the harsh weather was the debut of this six-member boy group, ONEUS! They were featured in RBW Trainee Real Life – We Will Debut, and have attracted a lot of attention in the last two years. The wait was finally over for their fans on January 9, 2019 with the debut album Light Us under RBW Entertainment.

This rookie boy band were initially supposed to be “RBW Boyz,” but ended taking up the name "Oneus," which stands for "Earth' in Korean. Building on the Earth–Moon relationship, their fandom is lovingly named "To Moon."

The debut track “Valkyrie” is one power-packed performance with a very well-made music video. Be sure to give them a listen!

Members: Ravn (Leader), Seoho, Leedo, Keonhee, Hwanwoong, and Xion


ITZY debuted on February 12, 2019 under JYP Entertainment with their debut album IT'z Different.  Their music video for the lead single “DALLA DALLA” broke the record of the fastest video to reach 100 million views on April 8, 2018, and for a good reason! The album gives us a small peek into what this group has to offer and more.

Although ITZY stands as a rookie group today, several members were seen in popular shows such as SIXTEEN, MIXNINE, and K-Pop Star 3.

“DALLA DALLA,” a song about self-love and accepting oneself despite the standards set by the world, ranked second on the Billboard's World Digital Song Sales Chart after BLACKPINK's “Boombayah.” If that is not powerful, what is?

Members: Yeji (Leader), Yuna, Ryujin, Chaeryeong, and Lia


VERIVERY debuted on January 9, 2019 under Jellyfish Entertainment with the debut single “Ring Ring Ring.” The members were a part of their very own show Now Verivery before they officially made their debut, releasing a pre-debut song called “Super Special.”

“Ring Ring Ring” has a sweet, '90s-inspired melody.  The music video is a cute package full of bright colors and fluid dance moves!  

Fans often call VERIVERY a “Younger brother to VIXX,” so if that piques your interest, be sure to check them out!

Members: Dongheon (Leader), Hoyoung, Minchan, Gyehyeon, Yeonho, Yongseung and Kangmin


EVERGLOW debuted on March 18, 2019 under Yuehua Entertainment. Their debut album Arrival of Everglow, quite literally, served as an official announcement of their entry into the industry.

“Bon Bon Chocolat,” the lead track of the album, attracted a lot of attention even among international fans. In a matter of a few weeks, this song managed to rank sixth on Billboard's World Digital Song Sales chart,  setting the bar very high for the K-pop industry.  Other songs in the album include “Moon” and “D+1.”

"Bon Bon Chocolate" is a song with catchy beats, powerful moves, and lyrics that reeks of raw ambition. Don't miss this one!

Members:  E:U (Leader), Sihyeon, Mia, Onda, Aisha and Yiren

5. Tomorrow X Together

BigHit Entertainment sure kept us on our toes while waiting for their newest boy band! TXT, which stands for Tomorrow x Together (pronounced Tomorrow by Together), debuted on March 4, 2019 with their single “Crown.” Feeling the hype around this five-member pop group, audiences eagerly anticipated meeting them. The members were revealed to fans starting from January 10th through introduction films.

Their album, The Dream Chapter: STAR, consists of five songs that quickly topped the charts! TXT ranked first on Billboard's Emerging Artists, World Albums, and World Digital Song Sales charts; and became the fastest K-pop group to rank #140 on the Billboard 200!

The songs on the album have a youthful feel with strong, meaningful lyrics served to us with both nostalgic and trend-setting dance moves. What's even more exciting is that BigHit recently announced their first U.S. tour, Tomorrow X Together Showcase: Star in US! They will be performing in New York City, Chicago, Orlando, Atlanta, Dallas, and Los Angeles. 

If you haven't heard their album yet, change that! 

Members: Soobin (Leader), Yeonjun, Beomgyu, Taehyun, and Hueningkai.

Which talented rookie group is your favourite?
Leave a comment and let us know!

Cover Image: ITZY (JYP Entertainment)
Written by Sayantani Banerjee

Daebak Box

We bring Korea to you! Experience the best of Korean culture with Daebak Box